Did Cintron dive through the ropes on purpose,some of the movers and shakers in boxing are saying he did.Even BillyC on his radio show after watching a video in slow motion is in two minds about the incident.Thats why i titled this message nod nod wink wink,how does anyone no for sure except Cintron.At the end of the day its just opinions,and its up to people to make their own minds up about the incident.I dont believe he dived through the ropes what did he have to gain,putting himself at risk of getting a serious injury landing outside the ring.But some in the media have come out saying it was deliberate on Cintron part that he wanted out of the fight.Why when he started to put Williams under pressure,and looked like he could go on and win the contest.So how can they come up with this assumtion,apart from nod nod wink wink we are in the no type of media people. In some respects its the people in the media that do more harm to the sport,when they highlight conjecture which no one can prove right or wrong.And its people that earn a living out of boxing,that are turning some fans away by putting doubts on fights that take place. But as i always say its just my opinion.
Post by davemurphy on May 20, 2010 10:22:48 GMT -5
Dan Rafael goes so far as to say that because Ref Frank Santore in the Martinez fight gave him a break when he counted 10 and hesitated and let it go on so that he could get the controversial Draw instead of a Loss, then his picking up a loss for this one is "poetic justice".
I'm of the belief it was an accident, no leap of intention. For me it would have to have been premeditatied! No way within that split second could Cintron weigh up if he could make it look accidental as well as decide it was worth it!
Post by davemurphy on May 21, 2010 12:43:28 GMT -5
In the end, we won't have an answer and it lies in your trust in Kermit Cintron. I kind of thought it happened too quick to be premediated, but that Kermit might've tried to pull one while out on the floor, thinking he had a cheap win. (I guess they were told beforehand that 3 Rounds was an official fight). I don't think anything less of those who think he saw an opening in the Ropes and a table to break his fall, I just don't happen to agree.
Kermit might've tried to pull one while out on the floor, thinking he had a cheap win.
That is something I hadn't really considered to be honest, Murph. But then again the ref didn't have a clue what rules they were using so I doubt Kermit would have been aware they would have gone to the cards. Furthermore he must have known he wasnt winning the rounds, especially when not alot had happened and Williams was the name/marquee fighter.
Quite a shame when the best punch that landed was when Cintron smashed the ambulance door on his was into it on the stretcher lol.
Post by davemurphy on May 22, 2010 18:47:25 GMT -5
Ton- I would disagree on Cintron and how he might've viewed the scorecards, I thought he clearly won the first round and most people I talked to where split on the second round, at least half giving it to Cintron as well. Most gave Williams the 3rd, but I think there was every reason for Cintron to think when he hit the floor that he was ahead 2-1. What was ridiculous is scoring the 30 seconds in Rd 4, but even with that in mind, I beleive Cintron thought he had at worst, a 2-2 Draw. I seriously doubt he thought he was behind, although might've been feeling Williams grabbing the momentum a bit.